Euro 2020 to begin in Rome

Ruben Hill
December 7, 2017

Uefa made a decision to reallocate the three group-stage games and one last-16 game originally given to the Belgian capital because of delays in the project to build a new 60,000-capacity Eurostadium on the site of Heysel.

"Due to the Eurostadium project's failure to meet the conditions imposed by the UEFA Executive Committee during its meeting of 20 September 2017, the four matches (three group, one round of 16) initially scheduled to be held in Brussels will now be allocated to London's Wembley Stadium following a vote by the committee", said Ceferin.

Should the Republic of Ireland qualify for Euro 2020, they will play one of their group games in Bilbao. "It's an honour to be one of the 12 nations that will play a part in this prestigious "EURO for Europe" tournament and I would like to thank the Uefa executive committee for giving us the opportunity to stage these games". "Today we don't know if they can build a stadium or not", Ceferin told reporters.

The building of the Brussels Eurostadium had run into delays involving the applications for construction and environmental permits. They didn't expect a decision until January and they did not know whether that would be a yes or a no. Experts from [our] administration felt it was a high risk for UEFA to wait. This is in addition to the semifinals and final, which were already set for Wembley.

It comes after Brussels was removed as a host city for the tournament, which will be staged across 12 different venues for the first time.

UEFA also announced the opening game on 12 June, 2018, would be held at Rome's Stadio Olimpico.

"Missing out on Euro 2020 does not necessarily mean a death blow for our stadium plans", he said.

Provided England qualify for the competition, which is being expanded from 16 teams to 24, they will play at least two of their group-stage fixtures at Wembley.

The other host cities that will hold three group games and a last 16 game are Copenhagen (Denmark), Bucharest (Romania), Amsterdam (Netherlands), Bilbao (Spain), Budapest (Hungary) and now London.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article