MLB Awards: Diamondbacks' Torey Lovullo named 2017 NL Manager of the Year

Ruben Hill
November 15, 2017

Although Lovullo was technically a first-year big league manager in 2017, he had plenty of experience leading teams. Lovullo became the fourth straight N.L. Manager of the Year to win the award in his first season with the team. Roberts was one of five managers to receive first-place votes this year - Lovullo (18 first-place votes), Roberts (five), Black (three), Milwaukee's Craig Counsell (three) and Washington's Dusty Baker (one).

Lovullo received 18 of the 30 first-place votes in voting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America and five second-place and six third-place votes for a total of 111 points to beat out Los Angeles Dodgers manager Dave Roberts, who received five first-place votes and a total of 55 points.

The Minnesota Twins' Paul Molitor (18 first-place votes) was the American League victor. Craig Counsell of the Milwaukee Brewers finished fourth and Dusty Baker, who was sacked by the Washington Nationals, finished fifth.

He began his managerial career in 2002 with Class A Columbus, and he paid his dues by spending nine years in the Minors before joining the Blue Jays' big league coaching staff in 2011. As well, the Diamondbacks this season claimed a spot in the NL Wild Card Game, which they won over Black's Rockies. Cleveland Indians manager Terry Francona finished second.

Molitor, 61, already put his name in the record books this year because his Twins team was the first to ever go from a 100-loss season to the playoffs the next season.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article