No Springboks on World Player of the Year shortlist

Ruben Hill
November 14, 2017

Barrett became the fifth consecutive All Blacks to win the prestigious gong past year and the fly-half could retain his crown in Monte Carlo on 26 November.

Kelly Brazier and Portia Woodman were nominated for the Women's Player of the Year award on the back of New Zealand's World Cup triumph earlier this year.

Following a stellar year for worldwide rugby, the shortlists for the ultimate accolade feature players who have excited and inspired fans around the world with their feats in 2017.

In a new step in the selection process, fans, worldwide captains, coaches and media will have their say before the panel considers the winners of the prestigious awards.

"I am sure there will be lots of debate over the coming weeks".

The award will be handed out on November 26th at the world rugby's annual awards dinner in Monaco.

Barrett capped another impressive season in the All Black No 10 jersey.

The England team-mates, key figures in Saracens' second consecutive Champions Cup success in May when they beat ASM Clermont Auvergne in the final at BT Murrayfield, have been nominated with three southern hemisphere players for the prestigious prize.

28-year-old Folau's nomination comes on the back of a sensational 2017.

The dual-code global took out his third John Eales Medal (most ever) for Australian player of the year in 2017, and also broke fellow rugby league convert Lote Tuqiri's record for most Test tries in a calendar year by an Australian.

Compatriot Richie McCaw is the only player to win the award in successive years, which he did in 2009 and 2010.

Itoje, who won the 2016 Breakthrough Player of the Year award, offered versatility with his solid performances for England and the Lions this year.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article