La Salle's Mbala on track for second straight UAAP MVP award

Elias Hubbard
November 14, 2017

DE LA SALLE'S Ben Mbala will hoist the University Athletic Association of the Philippines Most Valuable Player (MVP) trophy for the second straight season.

And even the near flawless elimination round campaign of Ateneo de Manila could help Thirdy Ravena in giving the Cameroonian a serious challenge for the award.

The 22-year-old Cameroonian, who plays for his country's national team, posted another dominant season with a spectacular 96.58 overall statistical points (SPs) on averages of 26 points (No.1 in the league), 13.1 rebounds (No. 2), 1.3 steals (No. 6), and 2.5 blocks (No. 2) to end the elimination round.

University of the East star Alvin Pasaol, who exploded for 49 points against La Salle in one of the finest offensive performances in league history, finished at fourth with 63.42 SPs courtesy of his 20.6 points, 7.1 rebounds, 1.7 steals and 1.6 assists output per game, emerging as the lone bright spot for the struggling Red Warriors.

La Salle finished second in the elimination phase and will meet Adamson University in the Final Four stage on Saturday at the Araneta Coliseum.

Soaring Falcons and Far Eastern University (FEU) Tamaraws make up this season's Final 4.

Mbala accomplished the feat despite missing two games because of his commitment with Cameroon in the FIBA AfroBasket 2017 last August.

The other two-time league MVPs were Kiefer Ravena, Bobby Ray Parks, Arwind Santos, Rich Alvarez, Don Allado, Enrico Villanueva, Mark Telan, Dennis Espino and Jun Reyes while Allan Caidic and Jun Limpot won three MVP plums each.

La Salle's Ricci Rivero took eighth position with his 56.2857 but he's set to join teammate Mbala, Ravena, Alejandro and Pasaol in the Mythical 5.

Juan Gomez de Liano of the University of the Philippines will be named Rookie of the Year after finishing 14th in the SPs race with 46.69 SPs (11.6 points, 6.2 rebounds and 2.5 assists).

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article