Drew Brees is Saints nominee for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Henrietta Strickland
November 14, 2017

Veteran safety Morgan Burnett is the Green Bay Packers' nominee for the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award in 2017. "Cam wants to win". What I like about him is when he encourages a player, or corrects a player, he is correcting himself. "That makes the player he is engaging with feel good because they know he isn't just talking to them, but he is talking to himself too, saying Coach Mitchell wants me to do it better too".

The Art Rooney Award was created in 2014 and is named after Art Rooney, the late founder of the Pittsburgh Steelers.

The Rooney Award is now in its fourth year.

Obviously, it's a nice honor for Hilton, who's one of the best players on the Colts and now has 36 receptions for 725 receiving yards (which are the 4th most in the league) and 3 touchdown receptions on the season.

Those eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players vote on Friday, Dec.15. He would also receive a trophy that represents the important role sportsmanship plays in the game.

The press release states: "The award is presented each year to an National Football League player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition".

The New Orleans Saints have nominated Drew Brees for the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award, established in 2014 and annually given to players for showing sportsmanship on the field.

The victor will be announced on the Saturday night before Super Bowl XLII.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article