Portions of Central Florida declared federal disaster area

Elias Hubbard
September 14, 2017

As South Florida begins the long process of rebuilding after Hurricane Irma, the Federal Emergency Management Agency added Palm Beach and Broward counties to the list of counties eligible for Individual Assistance.

That means residents can now register for disaster assistance from FEMA.

Palm Beach County has been included in a FEMA Major Disaster Declaration, which will trigger the release of federal funds to help people and communities recover from Hurricane Irma. If you preregistered with FEMA, you do not have to apply again.

FEMA's Individuals and Households Program covers temporary housing and rental assistance, home repairs or replacement and other needs not covered by insurance. Those numbers are operating from 7 a.m. until 11 p.m. seven days a week.

Upload documents to support your application. The loans can be used for loss and damages not fully covered by insurance.

Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via the SBAs secure website at https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela.

Residents of Nassau County who have appealed to U.S. Rep. John Rutherford were told that the county had not yet made application for disaster assistance.

The filing deadline to return applications for physical property damage is November 9, 2017.

Members of FEMA's Disaster Survivor Assistance Team will be surveying Jacksonville in the most storm-damaged areas of the city, such has San Marco, Riverside, downtown, Ribault and others. More information will be announced.

Pinellas County citizens are encouraged to get updates on Irma recovery efforts by visiting www.pinellascounty.org and following county social media accounts; search hashtag #PinellasIrma.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article