US to refuse visa applications from four countries [See list]

Elias Hubbard
September 13, 2017

"But while the USA tells the world that it respects human rights, in reality they don't". A growing wave of families and unaccompanied minors fleeing Guatemala, El Salvador and Honduras are streaming by the thousands into the United States by way of human trafficking networks through Mexico.

The move comes as President Donald Trump's administration places visa restrictions on four African and Asian nations that have refused to accept citizens deported from the U.S. The countries are among a dozen that the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) had previously deemed "recalcitrant" in the repatriation of criminal aliens.

The visa sanctions which will go into effect on Wednesday vary in severity with respect to each country with Eritrea facing the harshest sanctions.

The U.S. Embassy in Eritrea said in a statement that it will stop issuing business and tourism visas to Eritrean nationals, with "limited exceptions".

Cambodia and Sierra Leone are expected to be affected by visa restrictions, although there is no statement on the embassy's sites tonight.

US officials first discussed the visa restrictions last month.

According to the fourth cable, Sierra Leone sanctions will see only Foreign Ministry and immigration officials denied tourist and business visas at the U.S. Embassy in Freetown.

Cambodia sanction differs, only Foreign Ministry employees at or above the rank of director general, and their families, who apply inside the country will be barred from getting some visas for personal travel, the third cable said.

"The Secretary of State must order consular officers to suspend issuing visas until informed by the Secretary of Homeland Security that the country in question has accepted the individuals", an announcement from the embassy said. The letters triggered a section of immigration law that requires the State Department to formulate sanctions on offending countries. The measures have only been imposed twice before, against Guyana and Gambia.

The Department of State may change the covered visa categories at any time.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article