6 local high schoolers are National Merit Scholarship semifinalists

Elias Hubbard
September 14, 2017

Ridgefield High School principal Stacey Gross announced today that eight seniors have been named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists.

Students walk into school on the first day of the 2017-2018 school year at Greenwich High School in Greenwich, Conn. Thursday, Aug. 31, 2017.

Fifteen semifinalists are from Greenwich High School: Aubrey K Dyckman, Gwen D Gilfond, Nicholas X Glass, Erika S Hauschild, Wesley M Heim, Jakob Karetsky, Alexander J Litt, Steven Ma, Cassandra E Marcussen, Amit Ramachandran, Christian D Rogers, Jason Shi, Shobhita S Sundaram, Michelle Woo and Michelle Xiong.

Seniors from Elizabethtown High School, John Hardin High School, Fort Knox High School and Gatton Academy of Mathematics and Science are among 16,000 semifinalists across the country.

Thirteen students in Lubbock and one in Seminole were named as semifinalists, according to a news release from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

Chloe Jackson is a semifinalist from Pee Dee Academy in Mullins.

These high school seniors will continue to compete for 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring.

The nationwide pool of semifinalists represents less than 1 percent of USA high school seniors and includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. About 90 percent of semifinalists will attain finalist standing, with about half of finalists winning a scholarship.

To move on as a finalist, the students must submit a scholarship application, have a high academic record throughout high school, be recommended by a school official, write an essay and earn SAT scores that confirm the student's earlier performance on the PSAT/NMSQT.

Finalists will be notified in February 2017.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article