Shikhar Dhawan Replaces Injured Murali Vijay for Sri Lanka Tests

Elias Hubbard
July 17, 2017

Mumbai: Shikhar Dhawan has made a comeback to the Indian squad for the Test series against Sri Lanka as Murali Vijay, on Monday, was ruled out of the three-match series.

Shikhar Dhawan has been included in India squad for the upcoming series against Sri Lanka starting July 26 in place of Murali Vijay. The BCCI medical team advised Vijay to continue his rehabilitation program after he complained of pain in his right wrist after a preparatory match.

Vijay sustained a wrist injury during the home Tests against Australia, playing three of the four matches before revealing he was severely hampered by a fracture that required surgery and forced him to sit out the Indian Premier League.

The left-hander returned for the ODI series against England but he put on a fabulous show in the ICC Champions Trophy 2017.

India's tour of Sri Lanka will begin Galle on July 26. Dhawan started the tournament with scores of 68,125,78 as India entered the final but lost to eventual champions Pakistan by 180 runs. This is the first time the two countries will be playing a full series (includes all three formats) in eight years.

Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice captain), Rohit Sharma, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Abhinav Mukund.

India, led by skipper Virat Kohli, is also slated to play five one-day internationals and a single Twenty20 after the Test series wraps up.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article