Mike McCray named on Butkus Award Watch List

Elias Hubbard
July 17, 2017

University of Maryland wide receiver and returner D.J.

The award is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football.

Mike McCray, the senior linebacker from OH, is one of 51 to have his name included in the Butkus Award watch list released Monday. His 61-yard touchdown catch vs. Vanderbilt from Tyler Ferguson was the longest of his career, and he added more fireworks in the return game.

An Auburn player has never won the Butkus Award, which was won by Alabama's Reuben Foster last year, and six finalists and one finalist from last year are on this year's preseason watch list. The Fayetteville product was the only player to win SEC Freshman of the Week twice. They represent 45 universities in 28 states coast-to-coast across the 10 conferences that are part of the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS).

Fant was the Hilltoppers' third-leading receiver in 2016 with 29 catches for 407 yards and two scores, making for an average of 14 yards per grab. A panel of college football experts selects players for the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll based on performance each week during the season.

The victor and his family will be honored at the annual Paul Hornung Award Banquet presented by KentuckyOne Health, to be held at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville on March 8, 2018. He finished the year as an All-Big 12 second-team selection by the league and Associated Press.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article