Champions Trophy final: India to field first against Pakistan

Elias Hubbard
June 19, 2017

Two of those have been in this tournament, one by England past year and the other was by India in 2007.

Pakistan completed a remarkable performance against arch-rivals and defending champions India, to clinch their first ever ICC champions Trophy title at The Oval, in London, on Sunday.

He dismissed Rohit Sharma (nought), India captain Virat Kohli (five) and Shikhar Dhawan (21) in a stunning new-ball spell.

Amir and Hasan Ali's three wickets each guided Pakistan to bowl out India for just 158 runs in 30.3 overs.

"Reaching the final you obviously have to have a good tournament which the boys have pulled off".

Amir took out all three of India's premier batsmen, bowled a maiden for figures of 6-2-16-3, then watched as his teammates mopped up.

However, the last time Pakistan beat India was in 2009 also in a Champions Trophy match.

But the Pakistanis wrote off that defeat as an aberration.

Virat Kohli won the toss and put Pakistan in to bat first.

Kohli rued India's failure to string partnerships together.

Fakhar Zaman and Azhar Ali made the ideal start for Pakistan even with Zaman "losing" his wicket only for it to be a no-ball and India missing out on a run-out all before the opener reached 10.

The two Indian spinners Ravichandran Ashwin (0/70 in 10 overs) and Ravindra Jadeja (0/67 from 8 overs) got a pounding from Zaman, who would clear his front leg and muscle the deliveries through on-side, occasionally hitting the inside out shot through extra cover.

Just two weeks ago India battered Pakistan in the group stages of the ICC Champions Trophy and no one gave the beaten side a chance of even making it in to the knockout stages, how wrong they were.

On India, who have been in red hot form winning all games except against Sri Lanka, which Hussey said was a "shock", the former one-day great added: "India has oozed class throughout the tournament with each player looking in great touch and clear with the role he plays in the team". He danced to the other end, waved his bat to all parts of the packed ground, and kissed the pitch. It's the first time Pakistan is playing the final of Champions Trophy. Azhar Ali got run out after he scored a good innings of 59 runs of 71 balls.

Pakistan: Sarfraz Ahmed (captain and wicket-keeper), Ahmed Shehzad, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Amir, Rumman Raees, Junaid Khan, Imad Wasim, Fahim Ashraf, Shadab Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail.

Other reports by Click Lancashire

Discuss This Article